Critical Areas Violations

Critical Areas
What are Critical Areas and their purpose?
The City of Marysville finds that critical areas perform many important biological and physical functions that benefit the citizens of our community. These areas are often referred to as wetlands, fish and wildlife habitats, stream corridors and Native Growth Protection Areas (NGPA’s). Wetlands help to maintain water quality; storing and conveying storm water and flood water; recharging groundwater; provide important fish and wildlife habitat; and serve as areas for recreation, education and scientific study and aesthetic appreciation. Fish and Wildlife Habitat areas maintain species diversity and genetic diversity by providing opportunities for food, cover, nesting, breeding and movement for fish and wildlife.

Who owns or is responsible for these areas?
  • Some areas are properties owned by the city
  • Some areas are owned by the property owners of housing developments or citizens who abut the designated critical area